House of Cards series review

The “House of Cards” series was a great series, with many twists and turns that leave the viewers wondering “what comes next?”. When I had watched the first episode, I did not particularly like the show at all. I had dreaded the thought of having to watch two episodes once a week and to write a review about it. I had originally thought the series was going to focus on politics and how they work and be more on the “educational” side. I had started to become interested in the show after episodes three and four in particular, once I had started to see Frank’s ruthlessness. Additionally, Frank “partnering” up with Barnes and seeing how their relationship worked, definitely won me over and the show had my full attention. The only thing that I find to be the problem with the series, is that there isn’t something that “connects” to the younger audience, that may never have watched a show about politics in the first place (ex: me).

The most interesting part of this whole first season was Peter Russo’s “suicide”. Peter Russo’s rampant drug use and erratic behaviors throughout the series made the show much more entertaining, in my opinion. Once Peter Russo was murdered by Frank, I was kind of disappointed in a way because I had felt there were many directions his character could have went or taken. Peter Russo getting murdered by Frank had definitely shocked me to say the least, because up until that point I did not think of Frank Underwood as a vicious “murderer”. I had thought Frank Underwood was deceitful, manipulative, ruthless, a prick, etc, but I definitely did not see Frank murdering Russo at all. Frank had wanted to keep things “quiet” from Peter Russo after causing him to relapse and bomb an on-air interview. It never once occurred to me that Russo going to the police station to attempt to get himself arrested would lead to him getting driven home by Frank and ultimately killed by him. Frank Underwood is the main character and I want nothing more than for him to fail, but since he is the main character and a “nominee for vice president”, he will most likely not “fail” enough to my liking in the next season.

Zoe Barnes is an interesting character in this show and her character (along with all the others) probably only shows half of what actually goes on in the real world of politics. I find her to be extremely pretty and I definitely had enjoyed the scenes where she was half nude; I feel if the series had nudity it might be more appealing to the younger audience. She starts off trading information with Frank for sex to realize she didn’t want it anymore and wanted a non-sexual but professional relationship. By the end of this series Frank agrees to a “professional relationship” with her. At the same time his partner Doug finds out that Barnes is harassing Russo’s ex-girlfriend, along with the prostitute who seduced Russo the night he relapsed. I feel that some thing(s) may go wrong for her in the future episodes. Barnes now forming a “team” going after Frank is going to make the series a bit more interesting. It is now dangerous for Barnes since she is digging for information into the “suicide” of Peter Russo and since Frank is involved with Russo’s death, I’m sure in season two it will get even uglier.

Claire Underwood’s character is well played and she definitely knows her “role” as Frank Underwood’s wife throughout the series. She explained to Adam that she needed someone she could love for more than a week. I found this statement interesting since the viewers never witness Frank having sex with Claire, or even giving her a kiss. I don’t see Claire’s relationship with Frank as “love” because it seems more like they are together just to help each other and benefit from one another. It’s almost like they have a set arrangement, though it seems as if Claire is becoming “tired” of it seeing how she is looking into if she could still conceive a baby. I can’t picture a character like Frank becoming a family man all of a sudden, though it would be quite interesting to see where it would lead.

Frank Underwood is now in a position to be nominated for vice president. I am eager to see what he will do if he becomes vice president. I am also curious as to whether his ruthlessness will decline or continue even more if he takes the vice president position. He always seems to have everything planned out and worked out, but when he was offered the position to become vice president, he didn’t seem like it was a part of his “plan”. Frank originally went to convince Tusk to take the position, even though he had wanted someone else, and instead the President and Tusk offer it to him. In my opinion it seemed like Frank was flustered at first, and I feel that he doesn’t want the position. It will be fun to see where this all leads to.

I am happy that I didn’t get assigned to “binge-watch” House of Cards. In my opinion this show is best watched two episodes per week as I was assigned. I am going to watch it regularly instead of “binge-watching” when the next season comes out. I am definitely no stranger to “binge-watching” or to what Aaron said in his article. I have binge-watched shows like “The Wire”, “Breaking Bad”, “Boardwalk Empire, “Dexter”, “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, “Workaholics” and the list could go on and on. However, I don’t feel that “binge-watching” is the best way to watch a show in all cases. Certain series have shows that flow very well into one another but contain a lot of events that the viewers have to take in all at once. Aaron is definitely correct about one thing; I barely ever turn on my T.V. anymore and it sits here collecting dust. When I want to watch an episode of a show or even a new episode I go to my designated “t.v./movie” web-site and click away and view what I want, when I want. In my opinion it is a lot more convenient to “binge-watch” on Netflix, if you have a lot of free/spare time.

“House of Cards” overall was a great series, and I am extremely grateful that I was introduced to it. There were certain episodes that I felt could have been better, though I look forward to viewing season two. Since it’s picked up so many viewers, I am curious to see what direction the series will take. I am happy that a show I first viewed as boring and confusing, I now find entertaining and fun to watch. This series proved that you have to give shows a chance before giving them the “thumbs down” rating. After viewing this series fully I definitely give it a big “thumbs up” and I will definitely be more open minded to any other Netflix series in the future.

2 thoughts on “House of Cards series review

  1. gcamille994

    Excellent post! You described your transformation as a viewer very well and you explained how your opinions changed over time. I think that your opinions about the show’s future and what kind of lives it will create for its characters are very valid and well thought out. You analyzed each character and got to the root of who you think they are. Because you’ve binge watched other material, it’s great that you compared those experiences to the week by week experience with House of Cards. 🙂

    Reply
  2. controversialmediamoments

    Daniel,

    I read Camille’s assessment of your work… and now reading this… she said it all… you grew during the assignment… especially with how you felt about the show.

    Some of the writing needs work. It becomes too much in one chunk… and it’s a run-on.

    My responses end up becoming run-ons as well but that’s only because I’m not REALLy looking back on them with a close eye. I would say that was the biggest issues in this entire piece.

    I am reading 200+ of these and it gets to be a bit much… you should from now on, read the work out loud… this will help you.

    Basically, if you run out of breath… you’ll know it’s too long of a sentence.

    With the content — it’s good but could always improve…

    Here are a few examples of blogs… while far from perfect, you can see what I mean:

    http://jessiemchugh.wordpress.com

    http://samanthamarisa.wordpress.com

    I’ll have your grade ready shortly.

    Best,

    Professor Dunphy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

